My Hong Kong: Beyond the concrete jungle

16 Jul

Originally from Quebec City in Canada, I now call myself a Hongkonger since June of  2011. Hong Kong being my fifth international address in less than 10 years, I am hopeful that it will also be my last, or at least a very long-term one… It seems that I have finally reached the “I want to settle down” phase, much to my mother’s relief.

 The thing is… I really like this place. I have liked it since the beginning and for many reasons. The main one is definitely this cute little Chinese guy I moved to Hong Kong for. But there is also so much to do here and I too often get myself overwhelmed (in a good way).

I have a day job in Business Development, and it always makes me sad to hear international customers describing HK as nothing more than a concrete jungle full of shopping malls and skyscrapers, with lots of people, pollution and noise. Ok, I’ll admit that they are not completely in the wrong… But it is obvious that they also ignore what the rest of the city has to offer, which is the part of Hong Kong I prefer. I am referring to the easy access to mountains and ocean, and to so many other small things and quirky places that make this Special Administrative Region of China so fun to live in.

To resume it all, this blog is basically bits and pieces of my journey as an expat in HK, as I am discovering the city (and probably some other parts of Asia, everything being so close). It is about the side of Hong Kong that tourists and business travellers often don’t really know about, that side that I call my Hong Kong.

Leave a Reply

