Aiming for the moon… and for the sunrise

22 Jul

“Aiming for the moon and missing it is better than aiming for the ditch and hitting it” -Unknown

That’s what I told myself when I decided to register for a 40km adventure night race in Hong Kong. The first time I heard about the MoonTrekker event, I was chilling on a junk boat with friends while working on my tan. Living the glamorous HK life! I had recently moved to the city and was enjoying my new life in Asia with style.  I still didn’t know about all the hiking opportunities that Hong Kong presented and I was definitely unaware that the city hosted such adventurous racing events.

MoonTrekker immediately intrigued me… I liked the name (slightly mystical) and I was attracted by the idea of racing through the mountainous trails of Lantau island under the moonlight. Starting in Mui Wo and finishing at Cheung Sha Beach, the objective of the race was to reach the end before sunrise. How exciting it must be! That same night, I tried to register for MoonTrekker. Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately for me since I had not done any training), the organizers weren’t accepting any more participants, as it was too close to the event’s date.  My registration attempt and hopes were shattered. Instead of being discouraged, I was determined to register for the 2012 edition. And that’s what I did at the beginning of May this year, along with three other highly motivated girlfriends. Team Moonshine was born and the training begun…

Preparing for this kind of adventure race is such a great way to explore the many trails the region has to offer. During our training sessions, Hong Kong’s abundance of lush green valleys and the limitless blue ocean often blow me away. This island is truly stunning but tourists and visitors don’t often get a chance to see this.

View from Dragon's Back, a famous hike in Hong Kong

View from Dragon’s Back trail, a famous hike in Hong Kong

As it will be our first time participating in an event of this magnitude, we don’t want to put too much pressure on our shoulders. We just want to finish. There are some hardcore athletes racing in this event every year and as I looked at the results from 2011, I momentarily second guessed my decision to participate. But then I decided not to stress about it. We are four fit, enthusiastic girls and we will train hard. We will aim for the moon. And try to make it to the end before sunrise.

7 Responses to “Aiming for the moon… and for the sunrise”

  1. msdulce August 10, 2012 at 10:48 PM #

    Go Team Moonshine, we’re cheering for you! Be sure to let us know how it goes!

    • Kina August 11, 2012 at 8:18 AM #

      Thanks for stopping by! The race is in October. Will keep you posted. So excited!

  2. Betty Londergan August 29, 2012 at 12:06 AM #

    Go for it! Love your enthusiasm and commitment (photo is lovely, too!) Thanks for following http://heifer12x12.com !!

    • Kina August 29, 2012 at 2:01 PM #

      Thank you! I am so excited about this race!

      Your blog is so inspiring! I wish I had discovered it earlier. Will definitely follow you throughout the rest of your project!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Braving the dark, the pollution and the big flying bugs « The Kina Chronicles - August 4, 2012

    […] part of our MoonTrekker training, a few of us headed to Lion Rock last Friday night after work, in order to test our headlamps and […]

  2. The Chi Ma Wan country trail: By day, by night « The Kina Chronicles - September 5, 2012

    […] was already late in the afternoon when Team Moonshine boarded the ferry from Central to Mui Wo. The weather had been good so far, but a menacing typhoon […]

  3. Rediscovering Lantau Island « The Kina Chronicles - September 28, 2012

    […] few weeks ago, on a beautiful sunny (and very early) Saturday morning, our team, Team Moonshine, decided to train on Stage 2 of the Lantau trail (Nam Shan to Pak Kung Au), which entailed hiking […]

Leave a Reply

